NYFW Roundup- SS’11 Color Trends

Hello my followers!  This beautiful (almost Fall) morning in NYC has me cleaning out the proverbial and literal closet, bidding adieu to the summer trends and lifestyle that I have enjoyed over the past four months. As I fold and pack (hey, NY closets are tiny, and there is only time for one season to be hung up at a time), I started to dream about what my closet would look like in seven months from now when the SS2011 collections are in store and ready to become mine!

After seeing many a show and presentation during NYFW, the color palette could not have been more uniform- orange and neutrals. It is almost as if Tropicana and the Dry Cleaners Association of America got together to increase their profits by covering the runways with orange and white. Here a a few of the choice pieces I fell in love with last week at Fashion Week:

Tory Burch:

I totally orange crush all over this. There is something so vibrant and happy about this hue! Plus, you can take this look from the office to a Saturday stroll through the Union Square Greenmarket with the change of accessories and shoes!  Speaking of accessories….:

A corseted gold and orange belt? I almost stripped this off the model and made a run for it. Natch, I would have been caught as Anna has her five bodyguards blocking the exit.

Oh, then there is this necklace (on an orange shirt of course):

If there is any doubt, orange is the color, feast your eye’s on this fantastic coral sheath at Calvin Klein.  Clearly, architecture and cubism were forefront in  Francisco Costa’s design ethos for SS’11:

Even Marc Jacobs included a splash of orange to wake up an otherwise neutral dress:

Now, if orange isn’t your color (challenge me if you want, I will prove you it is),  default to the prevailing trend that was shown by every single designer, neutrals.

Tory Burch:

The perfect white suit!

Marc by Marc Jacobs really got me grooving to the 1980’s with the hair and this fabulous Creme Brule Celia Silk Playsuit:

Or this fantastic frock that is simply begging to be live in my closet:

3.1 Philip Lim also had some very high moments riding the bisque colorway- I am wearing this to the office every, single day:

I would be remiss if I were to not show you the absolute genius that Phillip Lim is- check the detailing on the back of this dress.

Finally, the perfect simplicity of Calvin Klein:

and… if you thought Francisco wasn’t on the same trend as everyone else with neutrals, check out these wicked stems:

Finally, my favorite show may have been Ralph Lauren.  His ability to redefine aspects of Americana is really beyond. This collection was a celebration of an urban cowgirl- but instead of going literal, he brought western to the table with a hand of restraint.  His color palette was a celebration of everything neutral (as was the entire runway- raw wood floorboards, wood and glass chandeliers, etc.).

Ah, Chanel Iman is perfection in this LWD.  Now, mark my words, I will be buying this skirt and will wear it everywhere- including to Whole Foods to grocery shop because it is simply that fabulous.

So, my best recommendation when considering what to purchase for your Spring/Summer 2011 wardrobe, is to focus on buying basic and classic pieces in whites, off-whites and bisques and embrace bright orange as the pop color- especially in accessories and footwear if you are on the shy side.. which as all of you know.. I am not. So, orange head to toe, here I go!



2 responses to “NYFW Roundup- SS’11 Color Trends

  1. Pingback: Goodbye Plumber Butt, Hello Comfortable Arches! My Favorite New Fashion Trends for 2011 | Up My Ali

  2. Pingback: Flower Power: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of Spring’s Biggest Fashion Trend | Up My Ali

Leave a Reply

