Update: Orange Reigns Supreme the World Over

It’s official, everyone has an orange crush!  Last week I posted all my favorite looks from NYFW SS 2011, especially those that lifted my spirits with the concentrated citrus color.   Well, if you take a look at Milan Fashion Week, you would have seen these lovlies:

Gucci :

I am so going to get this jacket. Although it is fantastic combined with jewel tones as styled by Frida, it also will work with the neutral color palette I am already excited to wear in oh… nine months!

And if you think orange is just for the finer sex, take a look at Raf Simmons for Jil Sander’s men collection:

Yeah, not so sure how I will convince any men in my life to wear orange pants, especially a pair as tight as these, but theoretically, they are fantastic. Perhaps they were shown in  Milan for a reason, Europeans are soooo much more open- minded than Americans when it comes to embracing color in dressing.

Finally, a few years back when I saw the Jil Sander AW 2009 collection, there was one standout dress for me, not only because of the architectural design, which was so basic yet striking, but also because of the hue:

And well, as much as I love that dress (and now notice that Victoria Beckham’s sheaths look ALOT like thisone), a new Jil Sander look has robbed my interest. Specifically, the neon, vibrant orange skirt, which has me obsessed for 2 reasons. The first, I love a peplum.  I swear, take a garbage bag, sew a peplum on it and I am strutting down Madison with total and utter confidence.  Second, the ankle length of this skirt makes it such a statement piece, that all you really need is a basic white t-shirt, and okay, a bra might be nice. Could this not be a great project for re-purposing those bright orange traffic cones?

Thoughts?  Do you guys crush on the orange as well?  Any favorites looks you would like to share?  Send them on over!

Leave a Reply

